Christopher Dock Results at District One Championships - (10-30-15)

The Christopher Dock girls repeated as District 1 Class A championships with another balanced effort Friday. The Pioneers placed six girls in the top eight finishers overall to run away with their second district title in as many years. Dock scored 22 points to Jenkintown’s 57 and Country Day School of the Sacred Heart’s 60. The win qualifies the Pioneers for the state championship on Nov. 7 in Hershey.
Leading the way for the Pioneers was Lael Flores. The freshman ran a season-best 20:05 to top everyone but Sacred Heart’s Emma Seifried. Senior captain Maddison Landis closed her district cross country career with a third-place finish in 20:21. Junior Camryn McCloskey came back from an early deficit to pull into fourth place midway through the race and held that spot with a 20:37 finish. Sophomore Lindsey Bernd ran 21:01 for sixth place. Sophomore Erica Gunden was just behind in seventh in a personal-best 21:07 to give Dock a split of just 1:02 between its first and last scoring runners. Junior Julianna Rotelle performed well to grab the final medal spot, eighth in 21:10. Fellow junior Alana Bergey ran 24:27 for 15th place.

Michael Gunden became the first known male district champion from Christopher Dock, and the Pioneers competed well to finish second overall behind New Hope-Solebury on Friday at Lehigh University. Gunden, a senior, ran 17:06 to pull away over the final two miles of the course for a comfortable win that automatically qualified him for the state championship at Hershey on Nov. 7. Tim Kennel also advanced to the state meet as a top-five finisher among non-qualifying teams. The sophomore came on strong for fifth place, edged by a hundredth of a second for fourth place. Isaiah Denlinger missed advancing to states by one spot after recording a personal-best 17:59 to finish eighth overall.
Chris Keach concluded his sophomore season in 19th place in 19:25. Addison Schweizerhof placed 20th, the third freshman overall, in 19:29. Ian Anderson ran his best time of the season, 19:48, for 26th place and Daniel Kabakjian took 28th in 19:57 to round out the varsity seven. In the non-seeded race, freshman Bobby Hadden ran a huge personal-record 21:29.